March 10, 2020

The Raven and the Dove | Book Review

*I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. This does not alter the rating of my review. All opinions, ideas, and comments are my own.


The Raven and the Dove book review


I really enjoyed this fast-paced fantasy novel! The world concept is nothing I've ever read before and liked every single bit of it. I was not expecting to like this book, but I was blown away at how much I enjoyed it.

Character:

Was there a character in this book I didn't like? There was one. The king below the mist. Without giving too much away he thinks he's doing the right thing, but he doesn't go about doing it in a very good way. What he does at the end of the book made me upset. Other than this king all the other characters were extremely likable. Even the overbearing mother of the raven prince. It was very easy to see bits of myself in each of them and that's what made me like them so much.

World: 

I have never read a book like this before. The concept of floating isles where the inhabitants fuse with birds is something else. It's an entirely original idea and I'm here for it!

Plot:

I wasn't sure entirely where the plot was going the whole time, but I try to read books without guessing the plot. I love letting the author lead me on the journey and experience everything at the same moment the character does. That being said, some of it was predictable for me, but not much. Much of the plot is disclosed throughout the book but the details are left out which makes it easy to read.

Writing Style:

I really enjoyed Kaitlyn's writing style. I love all the life she gave the characters. They are so vibrant and unique. It was easy to know exactly who was speaking or whose perspective I was following. It was so refreshing.

"He couldn't move. Not even as he heard the roar, the flapping of wings, the deep breath of the dragon in its final killing strike." -Kaitlyn Davis, The Raven and the Dove

Enjoyment:

I enjoyed this book immensely and I can't wait for the next book in the series. I definitely recommend this book.

Rating:

I gave this book a 4.4/5 star rating based on my personal rating scale. And I recommend it for readers of Sarah J Maas and Kaitlyn Davis' other works.

Happy reviewing,

Alicen